Roasted Tomato Sauce

This is a great base recipe for an array of hearty meals that the whole family can enjoy! From Chili con Carne to stews and soups. This one we used for a pasta bake. Please note, this is a basic recipe and can have things added or omitted as you see fit. Mine ended up being a tomato and basil one.

Ingredients:

1 Kg of tomatoes. A mixed bag is best but standard garden tomatoes will be fine.

1 large red onion

2 cloves of garlic

A handful of basil

Olive oil/coconut oil

Salt and pepper to taste

I use a reasonably deep set baking tray and literally throw all my ingredients but the basil at it!


Try to keep it in a single flat layer, drizzle with your chosen oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper and roast at 180 degrees for about 40 minutes. Or until everything is nice and squishy and there are a few caramelised bits.


Leave to cool until it reaches room temperature.
I like to use this time to have a cuppa and put my feet up for an hour, or walk the dog if I’m feeling particularly energetic!
Once reasonably cool, I transfer the entire contents of the tray and all the liquids in the bottom and a handful of basil to my trusty blender Lola and pulse ten or so times. You can do more or less, I like mine with a few chunks.
It’s important not to use hot ingredients in a blender, things get very messy and very painful! Trust me, I’ve done it!

Once completely cooled, pour into sterilised jars. This amount of tomatoes usually yields about two mason jars full and can be stored for around two weeks with a tight seal and a cold fridge.

As I said, this recipe is completely adaptable. You can add anything that tickles your fancy and you’re pretty much guaranteed to end up with an awesome result.

Leave a Reply

